+ ShareSpark.net »  :::: Hollywood Zone » English Album / SoundTrack / OST / Mp3 Songs
|- Tricky - Maxinquaye (1995) 2CD Remastered Deluxe Edition 2009

100% Bill Offer

Tricky - Maxinquaye (1995) 2CD Remastered Deluxe Edition 2009

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 25, 2018, 07:37:30 PM
  • Special Member
  • ****
  • Topic Author
  • Thank You: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Activity:
  • Country: ag
  • Posts: 731
  • Topics: 735
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • ShareSpark Member

Tricky - Maxinquaye (1995) 2CD Remastered Deluxe Edition 2009
EAC | FLAC | Image (Cue&Log) ~ 715 Mb | Mp3 (CBR320) ~ 300 Mb | Scans included
Trip-Hop, Electronic, Alternative | Label: Island | # 532 231-1 | Time: 01:57:20

Digitally remastered and expanded deluxe two CD edition of this classic 1995 Trip Hop masterpiece including a bonus 13 track CD featuring B-sides, outtakes and seven previously unreleased versions including 2009 mixes of three of the album's tracks: 'Overcome', 'Hell Is Round The Corner' and 'Black Steel'. Tricky's musical breakthrough came in 1992 on Massive Attack's groundbreaking Blue Lines album. Three years later, when he released this seminal debut album, Tricky became the voice and face of the Trip Hop movement.

Tricky's debut, Maxinquaye, is an album of stunning sustained vision and imagination, a record that sounds like it has no precedent as it boldly predicts a new future. Of course, neither sentiment is true. Much of the music on Maxinquaye has its roots in the trip-hop pioneered by Massive Attack, which once featured Tricky, and after the success of this record, trip-hop became fashionable, turning into safe, comfortable music to be played at upscale dinner parties thrown by hip twenty and thirtysomethings. Both of these sentiments are true, yet Maxinquaye still manages to retain its power; years later, it can still sound haunting, disturbing, and surprising after countless spins. It's an album that exists outside of time and outside of trends, a record whose clanking rhythms, tape haze, murmured vocals, shards of noise, reversed gender roles, alt-rock asides, and soul samplings create a ghostly netherworld fused with seductive menace and paranoia. It also shimmers with mystery, coming not just from Tricky - whose voice isn't even heard until the second song on the record - but his vocalist, Martine, whose smoky singing lures listeners into the unrelenting darkness of the record. Once they're there, Maxinquaye offers untold treasures. There is the sheer pleasure of coasting by on the sound of the record, how it makes greater use of noise and experimental music than anything since the Bomb Squad and Public Enemy. Then, there's the tip of the hat to PE with a surreal cover of "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos," sung by Martine and never sounding like a postmodernist in-joke. Other references and samples register subconsciously - while Isaac Hayes' "Ike's Rap II" flows through "Hell Is Around the Corner" and the Smashing Pumpkins are even referenced in the title of "Pumpkin," Shakespear's Sister and the Chantels slip by, while Michael Jackson's "Bad" thrillingly bleeds into "Expressway to Your Heart" on "Brand New You're Retro." Lyrics flow in and out of consciousness, with lingering, whispered promises suddenly undercut by veiled threats and bursts of violence. Then, there's how music that initially may seem like mood pieces slowly reveal their ingenious structure and arrangement and register as full-blown songs, or how the alternately languid and chaotic rhythms finally compliment each other, turning this into a bracing sonic adventure that gains richness and resonance with each listen. After all, there's so much going on here - within the production, the songs, the words - it remains fascinating even after all of its many paths have been explored (which certainly can't be said of the trip-hop that followed, including records by Tricky). And that air of mystery that can be impenetrable upon the first listen certainly is something that keeps Maxinquaye tantalizing after it's become familiar, particularly because, like all good mysteries, there's no getting to the bottom of it, no matter how hard you try. [This album was released with a bonus disc in 2009.]

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Allmusic.com


CD1 (57:13)

01. Overcome (4:30)
02. Ponderosa (3:31)
03. Black Steel (5:40)
04. Hell Is Round the Corner (3:47)
05. Pumpkin (4:31)
06. Aftermath (7:39)
07. Abbaon Fat Tracks (4:27)
08. Brand New You're Retro (2:54)
09. Suffocated Love (4:53)
10. You Don't (4:39)
11. Strugglin' (6:39)
12. Feed Me (4:04)

CD2 (1:00:07)

01. She Devil (Rough Monitor mix) (6:25)
02. Ponderosa (Dobie's Rub Part 1) (4:28)
03. Slick 66 (Commercial 12' mix) (4:17)
04. OVercome (Bungle mix) (2:38)
05. Brand New You're Retro (Alex Reece remix) (4:49)
06. Black Steel (Been Caught Steeling mix) (5:58)
07. Aftermath (Version 1) (5:01)
08. Just For The Hate Of It (Rough Monitor mix) (4:30)
09. Overcome (Acapella - Rough Monitor mix) (2:53)
10. Black Steel (Rough Monitor mix) (6:00)
11. Overcome (2009 remix) (3:25)
12. Hell Is Round The Corner (2009 remix) (5:43)
13. Black Steel (2009 remix) (3:56)

Download link:



Links are Interchangeable - No Password - Single Extraction

Share this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on MySpaceShare this topic on TwitterShare this topic on Yahoo


Related Topics

Back to top
APKPure For Android | Digital Cameras | Travelers